People are becoming too dependent on the internet and phone. Is it a positive or negative development?

In this technological world, phones and the internet have already taken over more than 85 percent of the population. Here, I will illustrate the demerits and explain why it has more negative impacts than positive impacts on society as a whole.

On the one hand, the emergence of the internet and mobile phones has revolutionized the way of living, as it has now become an inevitable part of life. Children and youngsters are more engaged with these modern technologies, and the overuse of these gadgets results in physical and mental health issues, such as affecting eyesight, increasing stress, and headaches. Children are more keen on using these than doing their school homework. For example, a recent study by Harvard psychology students states that people who use mobile phones and who work on computers for long periods are more likely to experience severe stress attacks.

These activities, like scrolling through the internet, increase unemployment among youth. Instead, they could do other efficient work to gain knowledge and strive toward a better standard of living. Further explaining the current situation, physical work has been drastically reduced after the increase in modernized apps like Swiggy, Zomato, etc. Apps like these reduce interactions outside our immediate sphere. For example, everything has been computerized, reducing the workload for humans. Furthermore, if people go without devices, they feel handicapped and find it difficult to conduct their regular tasks. As a result, society is not utilizing its full potential and is relying more on the tools available on their devices.

However, I believe we need to be careful about utilizing certain things more than necessary and decreasing our potential. We need to converse openly with other humans to sustain and satisfy ourselves rather than being driven by mobile phones and the internet. So, the need to regulate usage is highly essential for our betterment and that of future generations.