People are becoming too dependent on the internet and phone. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, individuals are becoming so attached to the internet and phone. This, in effect, is a walk in the Negative direction, as I will elucidate my reasons, with relevant examples, in this essay.

Firstly, People’s outright dependence on the internet is mental draining. Relying on the internet for every mental task will not give one the opportunity to exercise his brain. By extension, when the brain has remained redundant for a long time, this will transcend to poor performance in mental acuity and logical reasoning. A 2021 guideline released by the Ministry of Health, Ohio, USA, forbade internet access in High Schools and Colleges. This was due to a study carried out in the same state, where an appreciable link was established between poor School performance and abuse of the internet. This clearly demonstrate the negative effect of the internet on the intellect.

Secondly, individuals becoming addicted to their phones will adversely affect their physical interpersonal relationships with others, becoming distractions. When people are always engrossed with their phones, they spare little time for physical discussions. Even when they manage to ignite a conversation with someone, their phone always breach the conversation. They are either checking a new message, answering a call or assessing a new application, this further fuels their addiction to the phone. A greater percentage of Banks in Nigeria do not allow their workers access to their phones during working hours. Mr Amos Akidi, the central manager of UBA Bank, Lagos, Nigeria, justified this act by saying, ‘over time, we have noticed that phones are a major distraction to our workers’.

In conclusion, excessive reliance on the internet and phone will breed a society that is mentally drained with poor interpersonal relationship. This is a negative development and must not be encouraged.