People eat more processed food than they did in the past. Why is this? What are the effects of this?

Processed food is more commonly consumed nowadays compared to the past. This is most probably because most people find it more feasible than preparing meals from scratch. The impact of this can be easily seen through the increased prevalence of many health issues in our communities.

Almost everyone prefers processed and pre-prepared food in this fast-paced modern lifestyle. Being more convenient is certainly the chief impetus for the increase in this preference as it is timesaving and doesn’t require any advanced cooking skills. For instance, studies showed that most employed individuals who live on their own will choose altered food rather than organic recipes most of the time.

Adopting this lifestyle and relying on processed food heavily has impacted the health of many individuals negatively. Most of these products contain food preservatives, which have proven to be carcinogenic, meaning that it is one of the main culprits for cancers. Moreover, this type of food includes a lot of other artificial ingredients and sweeteners that are harmful to the human body and can cause other health problems like diabetes and cardiovascular insults.

In conclusion, altered and heavily processed food has become more popular lately, because it is the easy alternative to preparing organic meals, in addition to being time efficient. Consequently, this has led to a rise in various health challenges in the population.