People in many countries have to spend more and more time away from their homes. Why is this? What are the effects on people themselves and their families?

It is true that in many countries, modern citizens no longer spend much of their time at their home. While some reasons can be identified to explain this trend, the effects on individuals and their families must be considered as largely negative.

There are two factors that influence many people to be away from home for longer. Firstly, contemporary economic realities have transformed human’s working lives. One inevitable consequence of the new global economy is the disappearance of traditional ways of life, so individuals now have to seek far and wide to find work to support their family or to move up the career ladder. Secondly, in the search for a better standard of living, the children are forced to learn more and more so that they can acquire knowledge and get some job prospects in the future. The schoolchildren have to be at school in the early morning as well as attend extra classes at night. In additionally, to have promotion opportunities, they need to attend an intership which lasts for about three to four months out of the home.

Both factors have important consequences for individuals and their families. Adults who move away to work in another city, or even another country, often become economic migrants, laboring for a minimum wage or being forced to accept conditions of sweated labor. Although they may work to send money home to their families, like many guest workers in the UK or Germany, the ties of kinship with their families are weakened. As well as the children who always spend more time away from home could not strengthen the bonds with their parents. Furthermore, women who go out to work full-time have less influene in shaping their children’s personality during a child’s formative years. As a result, children may develop behavioural problems in the future.

In conclusion, some reasons for this trend can steadily be identified, and the consequences are far-reaching for individuals and their families.