People nowadays tend to have children at older ages. Why? Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, it is evident that most of couples are likely to have children when they get older. To some extent, I agree that more longer people live, more wise they become to nurture children. However, I also believe that it can also lead to conflict between parents and children because of age difference.

On the one hand, people are now choosing to have children after living much longer as a couple than in the past. This is mainly because nurturing children requires long hours that would have been spent for personal growth both financially and mentally. Moreover, young families have great opportunity to have long-lasting memories by spending time together without disruption of children. Additionally, having children at older age not only means great opportunity for personal growth, it also provides couples with better understanding, which in turn helps them to share chores wisely later in life. In Germany, for example, people have babies at their early 30s and that resulted in reduction of divorce rate.

On the other hand, this tendency can trigger some negative impacts on society. Firstly, understanding elderly parents may be tough for children when they grow older because perspectives on life differ from each other. While parents want to live in quieter places, their children tend to be surrounded by a variety of noisy activities. As a result, this leads to loss of valuable feelings such as respect to parents. According to statistics in the USA, the increasing number of people are facing problems with setting strong relationships between family members due to giving birth at older age and this causes more elderly people in nursing homes.

In conclusion, while having children at older age brings huge opportunities to couples to enjoy their early years as a family, it also affects negatively by an increasing rate of misunderstanding between parents and children.