People should only buy food sourced locally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is commonly believed that consumers should give their preference to local groceries rather than go shopping to the stores with international assortment. While some view this trend as positive, I would argue that it also brings a host of drawbacks that cannot be ignored. This essay will explore the advantages and disadvantages of purchasing the goods produced locally, shedding light on both sides of the coin.

The primary advantage is an opportunity of keeping a well-balanced diet. Farmer shops are full of seasonal products, especially vegetables and fruits, while shelves in the supermarkets are full of fast and processed food.

Moreover, farm shop products are usually tastes better. This pleasant benefit is linked to the more significant one. The fact is that the crops, which were grown for the worldwide transportation, require to be genetically modified to extend their shelf life and are full of chemicals which manufacturers use to treat soils and plants to increase profits. Therefore, locally sourced food is a healthier option for population.

On the flip hand, the main disadvantage of local food shops is a limited choice comparing to regular supermarkets. While supermarkets offer a diverse selection of products from the all corners of the globe, groceries with products from nearby are limited with their range of foods, which depends a lot on the climate conditions and the change of seasons. And despite the fact that buyers tend to support local farmers, they are forced to visit supermarkets if they need any special products. Another negative side is higher prices which are linked to the smaller amount of production and sales. So people who are not ready to sacrifice benefits and convenience will still use the services of large stores.

In conclusion, consuming of local produced food has its benefits and drawbacks. Some compelling arguments in favour of the local products are their taste and less chemical content, while lack of variety and high prices in farmer shops have a negative impact on demand among buyers.