People should stop downloading music for free. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people are off the claim that downloading music at no expense is detrimental and should be stopped. Personally, I partly agree with this suggestion based on some major reasons that are explained in this essay.

On the one hand, there are some persuasive rationales that support the claim that storing music for free should not be continued. In this day and age, unknown or new artists often rely on a small amount of money coming from music sales on legitimate platforms due to the large expense on recording studio renting fees, advertisement fees and other sources during the producing process. Therefore, downloading music from unauthorized platforms would directly threaten their means of livelihood, pushing them into challenging financial status and disincentiving these musicians from producing more works in the future. As a result, pirating music would undermine both talented musicians and the music industry. If many people purchase copyrighted musics, many creative artists can maintain their passion with music and continue publishing extraordinary works, fostering the diversity in the music industry.

On the other hand, despite its critical benefits of listening to paid music, downloading music at zero cost is also benefical in certain extents. In facts, new artists often find it very difficult to gather attention due to lack of popularity. Publishing their music on the mass media for free is a efficient alternative to spending money on advertisements since it can reach a wide range of listeners. As a result, musicians can gain a large number of followers, helping them to build a fan base before start selling music since they have gained decent fame.

In conclusion, I believe that pirating music have both its drawbacks and benefits and musicians should make flexible choices to maintain their career.