People sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on them?

At the outset of the new millennium, insufficient sleep has become increasingly widespread among individuals. This essay will discuss the primary causes of this trend, as well as the significant effects.

Majorly, there are two reasons for this concern. First and foremost, the modern lifestyle involves an immense workload. Students nowadays have numerous tests, projects, and assignment submissions that incorporate stress and anxiety. Similarly, working individuals have to undergo overwhelming pressure due to frequent meetings and work deadlines.Secondly, social media also plays an integral role in disturbing the sleep schedule of many individuals. To exemplify, apps like Instagram, TikTok, and many online platforms such as Netflix and Amazon Prime engage a large number of audiences. Individuals prioritize these activities above their sleep and end up spending long hours on these apps.

The consequences of lack of sleep can have long-term impacts. The effect of sleep deprivation is both physical and mental. It can cause fatigue, weakened immunity, and dark circles under the eyes. The individuals whose work involves standing up for long hours can cause issues like knee and back pain; however, office workers who sit for long spans of time can face spine or back injuries. Moreover, less hours of sleep can lead to fatigue, anxiety, or even depletion. This can result in a lack of performance at the workplace. Similarly, it can have adverse effects on students’ academic performance.

After contemplating over a huge accord of thoughts and speculations, it can be concluded that the significant causes of insufficient sleep are overwhelming workload and excessive social media engagement. These can have a detrimental impact on the mental and physical well-being of a person.