People sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on them?

In recent times, students have less sufficient sleep than they used to in the past. I believe this is because the study hours in the schools have increased, and those who have less sleep time might have less focus to study and lower quality of health.

Increasing the study hours in schools is the major reason for students who have less time to sleep. In the past, students only had 6 hours to study at schools, but now they are studying up to 10 hours a day. For instance, Indonesian elementary schools had 6 hours of study, so the students can go home at 1.00 PM. Now, the majority of primary schools in Indonesia have to go home after 4.00 PM roughly. Therefore, it affects students’ sleeping time. The more hours of study at schools, the less time for students to sleep.

There is a drawback of students having time to sleep, such as decreasing focus. Getting enough sleep is essential for students to maintain focus. If students do not have sufficient time to sleep, they will feel asleep while they study at school to absorb comprehensive knowledge. In addition, the less sufficient of sleep can affect to students’ health. Sleep is the process when human bodies produce hormones, such as dopamine to maintain health. Students can experience headaches while studying if they do not have sufficient sleep.

In conclusion, current students have less time to sleep because of the development of school hours. This situation can lead to some impacts, including a lack of focus and a poor quality of health.