People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves, their families and the society so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary life, there is no denying that people are likely to spend a long period of time in the workplace. However, it is argued that this brings no advantages to the employees, and should be prohibited. This essay will examine this point of view before giving my stance.

To begin with, there are various detrimental implications resulting from long working hours. One of the primary illustrations might be depression. When workers get involved in extra working time, they might reduce their relaxation space in order to relieve stress. As a result, their productivity may be directly affected, and they are likely to be sacked by employers. When it comes to their families, it is unavoidable that fired employees can be the main economic backbone of their family finances. If they become unemployed, this can bring an enormous burden to their family; therefore, pertaining to a significant decrease in the standard of living. Regarding society, with high unemployment rates, it is inevitable that crime rates might go up gradually due to poverty. When having no jobs, the unemployed tend to pickpocket others, and this brings the community to the verge of social security imbalance.

Conversely, I am convinced that the more working hours, the better life can be. It is evident that employers are willing to pay extra money for their workers’ dedication. This helps to shorten employee’s financial goals. Particularly, a worker needs 3 months to achieve his objectives without addictive payings; meanwhile, if they reduce their leisure times, they can gain another amount of salary to easily approach their goals. Moreover, employees can get a threshold to high promotion. This is because managers usually appreciate those who devote their time to the company. Thus, if employees willingly continue their work after working hours, they easily get promoted. This plays an important role in having a high paying job in the future.

In conclusion, it is obvious that prolonging working time can cause several impacts related to employees as well as their family and society. Fortunately, workers can get promotions with well-page positions as well as gain their financial goals quickly.