People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves, their families and the society so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

Working long hours is getting more common in these days. Some people believe that this trend should be curbed because not only it cause severe impacts on workers themselves, but also their families and the society as a whole. Personally, I strongly align myself with this idea.

Obviously, working overtime would to a range of adverse effects to workers. Firstly, employee’s health and productivity deteriorate since a good sleep pattern or a fully balanced diet seems to be extravagant for them. In fact, the consumption of pre-packed food and less-than-6-hour sleep have significantly increased over recent years, mostly due to the hectic pace of life. Hence, employees can suffer from various health issues, ranging from fatigue to even stroke, which leads to a falling health that contributes to more sick leave, poor work performance and making more errors at work.

Another reason is that working extra hours has serious consequences for families and communities. At the family level, busy work schedules prevent people from taking some family trips or even just having a meal together, Gradually, family relationships are greatly weakened or even can break down anytime if they do not make time to each other. In terms of community life, overworked people do not devote time to voluntary activities and charity, which bring benefits for the society, because they are so materialistic. These people overdo just to meet their trivial material needs and even do not spend time indulging themselves with mental activities, such as reading books.

In conclusion, I firmly opine that working hours should be limited as the frequency of long working hours exert detrimental effects on employees’ physical and mental health, their families and social life.