People today are more concerned with owning material possessions than with developing friendships and family relationships. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the idea?

It is widely believed that these days society tends to be more preoccupied with the occupation of materials than the development of relationships with those closest to us. Whilst there is some truth in assertion that society has become more materialistic, it is not necessarily true that this is at the expense of our loved ones.

Firstly, it is not necessarily ‘people today’ are becoming more materialistic. Material wealth is just more visible with modern media. For instance, there have always been materialistic people obsessed with status regardless of time. Today’s world is run on technology, so that people need material to function in society, vital for their work or their society, so the material occupations owning does not show greediness.

This view is not justifiable, most people these days understand that material possessions are less significant than people relationships. They know how material possessions are served for work purposes and it’s obvious that they cannot be more important than friendships or family ties. Moreover, relationships awareness depends on upbringing, personality of individuals or culture. An illustration for this case is Asians, people in Asian countries are brought up in very close-knit families; hence, they hold the view that developing friendships and family relationships is equally crucial as pursuing their careers.

In conclusion, it is not true that people today are becoming more materialistic, it is just more visible with modern facilities. And I believe that owning material occupations or development of relationships, which is human’s priority is depends on individual’s perspective.