Plastic containers have become more prevalent than ever. They are used in many businesses such as in the food and beverage sector. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, plastic containers are the most conveniently appplicable everywhere, thus, considerable number of food and drink industries are used to apply them. Although there are some benefits with this development, I firmly believe that it is generally negative due to two reasons.

The two main advantage of plastic packaging are the cost and easy production. Firstly, most of companies intend to get profit and make expenses minimal, hence, plastic is the best choice in relation to the cheap price. Every food and drink industries can afford it, moreover, they may spend money on more crucial and beneficial expenditure. Secondly, plastic is readily obtained material which can be extracted from diffferent fossils, such as coal, gas, petroleum and etc. Compared to producing glass or metal packaging, plastic production generally uses less energy and requires fewer processing steps, which reduces costs as well. Additionally, plastic production can be easily scaled up or down depending on demand. This flexibility is important for industries like food and retail, which need packaging in large volumes

However, disadvantages far outweigh the advantages because of the harmful impact on environment and animals. Initially, factories which produce plastic products emit a myriad tonnes of carbon dioxide that goes to the ozone layer and destroy it, afterwards, it leads to climate change and distraction of the environment. In addition, plastic is not biodagradable and recycling takes under a thoundsand years, eventually, it just accumulates until it reaches a critical point. Furthermore, wildlife is also suffered from plastic. For example, whales eat plastic packaging which often overlap their throats, subsequently, they just cannot breath and die. Today about eight hundred species are endangered due to plastic eating and poisoning.

To conclude, plastic is a beneficial material in some cases, but in most it carries a lot of harm and bad consequences, hence, I strongly believe that disadvantages far outweigh advantages. A tiny cost and profit of companies do not cover the devastating effects on the environment and animal world.