Plastic containers have become more prevalent than ever. They are used in many businesses such as in the food and beverage sector. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

The issue of plastic containers has sparked debate because they are increasingly used by food and drink companies. In my view, plastic containers, including synthetic bags and bottles are an unequivocal threat to the planet and humans, since they can cause illnesses and animals extinction.

Firstly, plastic products are among the most serious threats to the planet, as they lead to deadly diseases and the disappearance of wildlife. This mainly because of such products break down into microplastics, which eventually end up in the atmosphere and the oceans, and can be transformed to the human body through seafood, water, and salt. This can lead to serious long-term physical health risks. Furthermore, single-use plastic products have caused major problems to animals, particularly sea animals, since many of them die after mistaking synthetic items for food. For instance, thousands sea turtles accidently mistake plastic bags for jellyfish, which lead to their immediate death and, in turn, to a remarkable decline in their population.

Secondly, synthetic containers may bring some advantages to food and drink companies, especially financial benefits. This is because, in many countries, synthetic industries are cheaper than other factories, which helps firms to maximise their profits and totally ignore the harm that plastic can cause to the environment. In addition, synthetic can be adapted into different shapes and sizes, which allows firms to create appealing packaging for branding and marketing. However, single-use plastics can lead to significant harm, as people living near factories robbed of good living conditions. Bangladesh, for example, is known for its cheap production costs, yet its people suffer in several ways, especially water pollution and respiratory issues. As a result, while firms try their best to maximise their benefits, the local community suffer in silence from miserable conditions like physical diseases and low income.

In conclusion, while enterprises promote the use of plastics in their manufacturing processes in order to decrease production costs and earn more, they can the primary reason for unlimited problems, including illnesses and ecological pollution.