Politicians should take more responsibility for preventing and solving global environmental problems, because individuals can do very little. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that politicians play an important role in tackling environmental issues. It is believed by many that these public servants should do more than they already have because of the little contribution of citizens. I partly agree with this point of view especially in terms of the roles of political leaders, while holding citizens accountable for protecting the environment .

On one hand, every person has responsibilities to protect our planet and restrict harmful activities that do harm to the environment. Each individual need to do smallest tasks such as trashes division before throwing into garbages, energy savings or electricity vehicles transition. For instance, each citizen in Hanoi, Vietnam has tried to plant at least one tree in their house annually as well as prioritized to use public transportation instead of private vehicles. However, these actions have been lauched thanks to the supporting campaige or programs of the Government with the important role of Politicians.

On the other hand, it is without doubt that politicians influence our society through proposing and reinforcing public policies in environmental aspects. In fact, they contribute to solving global environment problems based on building international commitments with diverse and effective ideas such as Just transtion energy production or developing roadmaps to achieve the Net zero emissons in 2050. Therefore, there are many respective regulations that have been imposed to implement these commitments and attract the participation of individuals in each country. All politicians are also often the good example on protecting our planet, fighting climate change and preventing bad effects of industrial and household contamination activities.

To sum up, I believe that the politicians need to take more accountibility on global environmetal protection, but each person also have a small contribution through specific activities.