Pollution and damage to the environment always happen when a country grows and becomes richer, and these problems cannot be stopped. To what degree do you support or oppose this idea?

Nowadays, severe environmental damage results from the development of a nation, and it is believed that it is impossible to stop such problem. While there are aspects making it a more serious issue, putting an end may still be possible with effective measurements. This essay will provide personal ideas that oppose the given statement.

On the one hand, there are several reasons making it seemingly impossible to address these troubles. One of them is the abusage of unrenewable sources of energy and materials. Due to their quality and economic values, products made from plastic, or fuels such as diesel and gas are widely used. These sources of material and fuel are made up of harmful chemicals which contribute to climate change and pollution to habitats of human and animals. Moreover, because of their afforadbility and abundance, they will continue to be used globally as if they are unlimited. Secondly, the spread of social media usage is also a contributing factor. People overlook the severeness of environmental pollution because they are not updated to the news and instead focus on interacting with social platforms. For instance, a recent survey conducted by Cambridge University shows that 70% of people are spending less time on watching TV and more time on their phone. Therefore, they lose track of the stress our environment is suffering from. As a result, there are not enough people to take this issue in hand, making it even harder to be solved.

However, I believe that it is not impossible to achieve positive results. Firstly, more and more green energy sources are being introduced to public. Energy sources such as solar, wind, water are renewable and does not harm the environment and produce greenhouse gases. People worldwide are currently taking action by switching to electric vehicles, using biogas to cook, and placing solar panels on the roof of their houses. To support this idea, a research made by colleagues from Harvard University says that the number of people shifting to greener energy sources has increased significantly lately, from 50% to 60% between 2023 and 2024. The second reason is that governments have enrolled laws that limit the amount of trash or leftover materials a company can unload to the environment and strict punishments. To be specific, a factory can only dispose 70% that of what they used to prior to 2024 and financial or criminal punishments depend on the significance of violation. Such regulations reduces the amount of chemicals thrown out to the environment, thus makes soil and water sources cleaner and less exposed to pollution.

In conclusion, it is undoubted that country development results in harm to the environment since people use cheap but unrenewable materials and modern entertainment platforms. However, stating that such issue is unsolvable is inappropriate because of the increasing exposure to green energy sources, as well as effective actions of governments towards this problem.