Pollution and damage to the environment always happen when a country grows and becomes richer, and these problems cannot be stopped. To what degree do you support or oppose this idea?

In today’s world, there is an ongoing debate regarding noticeable factors leading to environmental contamination and damage. While many people firmly believe that the richer a country is, the more environmental problems it has, others argue that richness and development are not the main reasons causing environmental issues. From my point of view, I completely agree with the first viewpoint due to some drawbacks of rapid modernization and industrialization.

First and foremost, the quick and unexpected changes stem from the rapid modernization, allowing each country to keep up with the latest development of other countries. In fact, people nowadays have a tendency to use their private transportation instead of public transport so that they can catch up with other nations’ renovations. This is one of the significant factors causing air pollution because of the large amount of gas emissions released from vehicles on a regular basis. Take Vietnam as a prominent example, from 2005 to now, this country has witnessed the large number of vehicles exported from other countries annually that have had great contributions to the high air quality index, around 100 percent every year

In addition to that, the presence of modern facilities and infrastructures to satisfy the increasing demand of people are the key factors damaging and polluting the environment. To fulfill individuals’ high job demands, the local authorities need to cut down trees or plants to make room for building many factories or high-rise buildings to serve different jobs, allowing them to offer job opportunities to those who are unemployed, leading to air, soil and noise pollution due to exhaust fumes and the loud sound from companies. This has contributed considerably to global warming and greenhouse effects as well as increasing the potential risks for the environment. For instance, in a recent survey in Cananda showed that it experienced 50% soil degradation because of chopping trees to construct exporting and manufacturing companies. As a result, industrialization is attached closely to the contamination of environment.

In conclusion, I firmly agree that when a country develops and become richer, it can lead to environmental pollution and damage due to industrialization and modernization.