Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Environmental protection individuals are concerned about the pollution of rivers, lakes and seas. Some of the major causes of water pollution are inappropriate disposal of household waste and inadequate treatment of industrial liquid waste. While these activities endanger the lives of both animals and humans it can also lead to the extinction of aquatic animals.

One leading cause of water pollution is the inappropriate disposal of household waste. People often dispose of their waste in nearby drainages and rivers rather than disposing these waste at designed waste disposal sites as it is more convenient for them. This pollutes the water making it unfit for use to both animals and humans. Another cause of water pollution is inadequate treatment of industrial liquid waste. Industries often disposed liquid waste in rivers, lakes and seas, this waste contains harmful chemicals that If not treated will pollute the water causing harm to be animals and humans.

Both animals and humans depend on water for survival. While aquatic lives take in oxygen from this polluted water, terrestrial animals and humans depend on food irrigated with this polluted water and even ingest the polluted water directly into the body. This can lead to sicknesses like stomach flu in humans and even death in some cases, death to both aquatic and terrestrial animals and possible extinction of some species of aquatic life.

In conclusion, water a necessity for survival is becoming unfit for use and harmful to animals and humans due to inappropriate waste disposal and inadequate treatment of industrial liquid waste which are some of the major causes of water pollution that can lead to the extinction of some species of aquatic life, sickness and even death of animals and humans.