"Prevention is better than cure". Researching and treating diseas is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures

It is often argued that exploring and solving some medical issues can be extremely expensive for people. Therefore many of them believe that investing in prevention is a better way to protect their health. Although I agree that it is essential to look after your personal healthcare, sometimes it might be challenging to predict an illness in advance.

On the one hand, individuals should regularly monitor their wellbeing, as this contributes not only to their personal health but also to the overall condition of the country. Firstly, the health level is the greatest asset of a nation, so the state needs to look after it. For instance, if more citizens were able to access medical and social services, it would boost the country’s economy and the overall standard of living. Secondly, people can easily be encouraged to adopt a healthy lifestyle through volunteers and some social programs. These activities might be helpful for them to improve their habits and avoid various harmful illnesses.

On the other hand, sometimes it might be very complicated to keep tracking your health due to the sudden diseases and chronic conditions. That is why many people suffer from an injury or an illness that could not have been prevented and therefore needs to be treated such as diabetes, infections or heart problems. Moreover, financial sufficiency of the state plays a vital role in managing people’s lives. For example, conditions in state hospitals reflect the degree of civilisation in a society and if the government started to provide more opportunities for citizens, their overall health would improve significantly.

In conclusion, it is obviously important when people monitor their own medical care and try to follow a healthy lifestyle for their own mental and physical health. I believe that it is always necessary to consult a doctor to avoid serious and unpredictable consequences.