Prison is the best punishment for criminals. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

These days, every time you turn on the television or flick through the pages of newspaper, you learn about the victims of crime. Some people believe the best way to punish criminals is to sentence them to time in prison. I completely disagree with this idea and in this essay I will support my opinion with example.

Firstly, life in jail is far too comfortable for prisoners. For example, many inmates have access to luxuries such as television, computer and sports facilities and so on. In other words, spending time behind bars is more like being in a holiday camp. If prison is going to act as a deterrent, then I believe it needs to be considerably tougher.

Another reason why I disagree with prison as a punishment is that a large number of prisons are not a danger to society. Take shoplifters as an example. They are often locked up in the same cells as murderers, rapists and criminals. I strongly believe that this is a serious waste of taxpayer,s money. Additionally, petty criminals may even learn how to commit more serious crimes when they are inside.

On the other hand, there is an argument that prison can help to rehabilitate offenders. Many inmates have the opportunity to study while they are doing time. As a result, many never re-offend when they are released.

In conclusion, although it is a common belief that prison is a best way to punish criminals. I believe it is too soft and that s not necessary in the majority of the cases. Personally, I think prison should be the last option when all else has failed.