Prison is the best punishment for criminals. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

In the last few decades, there has been a noticeable increase in the amount of violence and crime taking place throughout the world. In most third-world countries and even first-world nations, the number of people charged with some crime is rising sharply. While some people believe that a prison sentence is the most appropriate punishment for criminals, I strongly disagree with this idea, especially when most individuals do not tend to obey the regulations existing in society. In this essay, I will elaborate on this point of view and support it with examples

One of the reasons why I cannot agree with the prison punishment is the sentence period. In most countries, crimes such as robbery, kidnapping, human trafficking, drug smuggling, murder, and rape are the most heinous ones, for which there is no certain length of jail sentence. For instance, in Italy, criminals charged with vandalism and theft are set free from their offenses soon after serving only one year in jail, resulting in them committing crimes over and over. This illustrates why being in jail cannot be the appropriate punishment. In other words, there is no extended jail period to prevent offenders from offending, making them even more rebellious since there are no strict rules in most judicial systems globally.

Another reason that can be taken into consideration is the lack of enough witnesses. In most countries, if a person violates a law, they are arrested, convicted of an offense, and sent to jail. Nonetheless, if he or she pleads not guilty in the trial session, the situation even deteriorates since people dread becoming witnesses. According to a new survey conducted by the federal court system, 78 percent of people are afraid to act as a witness to criminals. This results in criminals being acquitted of any violent involvement and being released just after being in jail for a short time.

On the other hand, some argue that even a short prison sentence can help criminals avoid breaking the law again. In other words, prisoners can be rehabilitated and lead normal lives when leaving prison.

All in all, prison cannot be the best punishment due to two crucial reasons, namely the short prison sentence and the fears of potential witnesses in court. Personally, I believe that prison cannot be the best solution in this case.