Public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free for people who use it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the investment in public transport should be funded by the government and make it chargeless for individuals. While, this may bring some benefits to the society, I firmly believe that making it totally free is pointless, as the fee is affordable for most of citizens and not charging a pay would make people disrespectful towards public transportation system.

Undeniably, allocation of the government funding for public transportation and making it out of charge brings some advantages for people in financial way. For instance, it highly benefits poor society that struggle to pay every day, including people who are making end meet or disabled individuals, instead of this, they are more likely to spend on basic needs, such as grocery or medicines. Therefore, not being responsible to pay the fee makes the commuting experience more comfortable, as people who cannot afford should not worry whether the checking inspector is coming and issues them a fine. Thus, this approach will prevent pressure and fosters an ease.

However, I would argue that buses are not sole accountability of authorities, since they are commonly used by the community to make low-cost travel. I believe there should be a charge for using public transports, even it is small. This is mainly because, if no paying system be implemented, then people are likely to undervalue their presence and what kind of crucial role they play in their lives. For instance, the probability of neglecting and leaving unclean is high, as residents are not charged. Furthermore, there are more important aspects of economy that the government should focus on and allocate funding rather than the maintenance of public transports.

In conclusion, although there are certain benefits of implementing no-fee system to public transportation on individuals, authorities should not provide the whole investment. Therefore, to ensure cleanliness of buses and contribute to making people more accountable in terms of social obligation, it is better to still hold a little charge.