Public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free for people who use it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that public transport should be free for all citizens, while others belive the opposite view. I personally agree with the idea of making public transport totally free because it can help to tackle the climate change issue and benefit the disadvantaged social groups in society.

To start with, the more people use public transport instead of their personal vehicles, the less they pollute air with carbon dioxide. To be more precise, the waste comes from transport in form of gas emissions are detrimental for our climate. Making public transport free can increase the number of people who choose bus and subways over their personal cars and can help to deal with climate change problem. For instance, according to the surveys have been run among citizens of Singapore in 2017 showed that attenders are more prone to use public transport if it was free.

Secondly, not only can free public transport boost the speed of recovery of climate, bu it also can be beneficial for the disadvantaged individuals. To be more specific, transport expenditures can be very high for the families with low income, espically in developing countires. Considering the fact the prices of electricity, gas and petrolium can be very costly in the mentioned countries, the cost of public transport cannot be very low. However, making public transport free may help with these disadvantaged families. For example, the Estonian government decided to start a pilot project and established a free bus line in 2010. As a result, they observed improvements in the financial situation of poor people.

In conclusion, while making public transport free is hard by considering the price of oil and other resources it use, I completely believe it would be beneficial for society and climate change.