Reading is more educational than watching videos or TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a debate whether the benefits of reading outweight those of watching videos or TV. For me, undoubtedly, I would say that statement is no longer relevant, especially in this era. In this essay, I will discuss two reasons why watching TV and videos is as vital as reading when it comes to learning.

Overtime, videos or TV programs have been significantly adjusted with the needs or demands of people of this time where learning in a more practical or convenient way is preferred, one of which is learning through videos. There has been a growing trend, especially for the youth, to gain new knowledge from watching videos from Youtube.

These young people are wired to get hands-on experiences on how people do certain things with their jobs from the videos they watch. For example, those living in the city interested to grow their on food in their limited space can learn how to execute their plan by watching the step by step process on Youtube from the video about urban planting.

The other reason why I believe that videos/TV programs are as educational as reading is related to the different preferences of how people like to study. Some love reading, while others do not. For those who are not into reading, they must find other methods to learn. Watching videos either from Youtube or TV programs are certainly one of the best ways to help them learn. The information from the videos is tailored to give them an experience to deepen their understanding of what they may have not learnt. There is a TV program broadcasted in English on TVRI channel on exploring the beauty of Indonesia from cuisine to tradional heritage. The program certainly brings the concept of learning to a different level.

In conclusion, I’m certain that those two previously stated reasons can show how significant it is for us to learn from videos or TV. On top of that, learning from visual media is engaging which gives us visualization helping us learn better.