Research has shown that the transportation of products and people are the main source of pollution worldwide. Some people believe the Government should be in charge of this, while others believe it is the fault of individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Research has revealed that imported products and transports are the major contributors to pollution. It is also believed that governments should be the one responsible for this issue, while others argue that it should be people’s fault. From my perspective, this problem needs the cooperation of both.

On the one hand, the reason for people blaming pollution on the governments is rational, in light of their regulations and controls. One of them is the crucial role they play in building infrastructure and public transport. Moreover, through regulations that are only enforced by governments, emissions can be reduced significantly. For instance, if environmental taxes are raised, individuals will intend to utilise buses and trains. This modification, though it seems minor, can reduce emissions effectively. Governments are also in charge of controlling urban planning, allowing buildings to be closer to individuals. For example, factories can be constructed near residential areas, or reduce the distance between houses and offices. Those implements enable people to avoid using private transportation, affecting positively to the environment.

Despite those aforementioned reasons, it cannot deny the importance of each individual in resolving pollution. To begin with, people always have the right to choose their own transport methods. That means, it is their decision to select which type of transport is used, not the governments’. Furthermore, consumer demand is of great significance when it comes to overseas production and transportation. Since the need for imported products and overseas travelling still continues to rise, air pollution cannot be addressed effectively. More importantly, individuals are the ones that adopt eco-friendly habits, such as carpooling, public transport uses, and purchasing domestic products, which avoid environmental problems.

In conclusion, while governments support the solutions by laws and building plans, individuals can help by taking on eco-friendly habits, using local items, and public transportation. I am convinced that a balance between these two is the most effective approach.