Research has shown that the transportation of products and people are the main source of pollution worldwide. Some people believe the Government should be in charge of this, while others believe it is the fault of individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some research concludes that transportation of products and people is the main cause of pollution globally. There are different opinions on this topic; some people believe that governments are responsible for tackling this problem, while other people are convinced that every individual is responsible. The government can reduce the amount of pollution, as they control all the transportations and can set strict rules. However, people also play a significant role in reducing pollution, as individual choices directly impact the level of emissions produced daily. I believe that without the impact of individuals, governments are not able to stop pollution.

Regulating vehicle emissions and developing public transportation, governments can decrease the amount of pollution caused by transportation of products and people. Authorities can expand affordable and efficient bus, rail and metro to reduce the number of private vehicles on roads. What is more, governments are able to set strict limits on how much emissions a car can produce. For example, recently, in Almaty, authorities presented a rule that certain vehicles are not allowed to go to Almaty as their emissions exceed the permitted limit. Although the government can implement new strict rules, it is impossible to reduce pollution without individuals, as not all of them might follow rules.

If people continue to choose private transport over public one, cycling and walking, pollution will persist regardless of strict policy. Every day the decision of a person matters and influences the amount of pollution the population produces. For example, a single bus can carry approximately 40 people, meaning 40 fewer cars on a road. This requires no government’s policy – just personal decisions. I am convinced that every person is responsible for the carbon footprint on the planet and without individuals willing to follow rules; this is impossible to reduce pollution.

I’m coming to the conclusion that both governments and individuals are responsible for pollution on Earth caused by transportation. Setting strict limits and rules the government the conditions, which make cleaner choices more accessible. However, individuals should be willing to change their habits and adjust to new rules.