Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

According to some study, it was shown that business events such as conference and training are currently being done online. I do believe that the drawbacks of working remotely outweigh the benefits.

Firstly, the advantage of working online is that employees would have flexible working hours and would prove to be more convenient for many of them. Many researches have shown that autonomy has made many employees become more productive and creative, Also, less time would be given up to traveling to the office, in which it could take up to 2 hours in major cities. This could improve the morale as well as the stamina of the employees. Overall, these factors resulting from working remotely could help the company to be more efficient and could improve the overall performance of the firm.

In contrast, there could be a few problems arising from working online. Firstly, some workers may not have sufficient equipments and facilities at home, such as laptops, internet connection or tablet, to be able to work efficiently. Secondly, it is much easier to miscommunicate with your colleagues when talking through an online platform, whether it is through mail, text messages or video conferences. This is due to the lack of face-to-face communication which better indicate the wants of both employers and employees. Furthermore, the relationship within the company would likely be worse as workers rarely meet each other at the office. This could make the company working process less effective.

In conclusion, I believe that working online provide more disadvantages to the company, as it induces miscommunication and could result in inequality among employees in terms of working conditions.