School teachers are more responsible for the social and intellectual development of students than parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, the roles of teachers and parents in shaping children’s development have become increasingly important. Social and intellectual skills are important for everyone, and many people believe that these are more effectively taught by teachers than by parents. I personally agree with this statement for some reasons, which I will explain in this essay.

Perhaps one major reason for this is that teachers are professionally trained to support students and intellectual development. This means that they could gain a deep understanding of effective learning methods and how students process information. For example, when working on difficult questions they break down difficult material and give solutions academically , which parents usually do not have systematically. Moreover, teachers can give objective assessments, such as the national curriculum to evaluate a child’s academic level compared to the average for his age.

I do appreciate the opposing view, which is that parents are the first teachers for social intelligence and character. However, I believe that these skills can be developed more effectively in the school environment as a form of miniature society. Furthermore, in schools students interact with peers from diverse backgrounds, allowing them to develop communication skills, discipline, teamwork, and compliance with broader social rules. So, it might be effective enough for making the development of social skills more structured and comprehensive.

In summary, it seems to me that school teachers have a significant responsibility for the social and intellectual advancement of their pupils. This is because they have professional skills, structured methods, and clear educational objectives.