Schools are no longer necessary, because children can get so much information available through Internet, and they can study just as well at home. What extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern world, the debate whether schools are necessary is highly polarizing. Some people believe that schools are no longer imperative due to the popularity of the internet. From my perspective, although internet has some benefits, it will not supersede schools in terms of collaboration and physical activeness. In this essay, I will explain the reason of my disagreement with this statement.

On the one hand, while it seems significantly helpful, the internet has its own downsides. Firstly, easy access to social media, online games, and entertainment distract students from their lessons, thereby reducing concentration and learning effectiveness. Secondly, using the internet excessively can lead to some health issues. For example, poor posture, sleep problems, and mental fatigue all stem from the prolonged use of the internet. Furthermore, if all school lessons become online, some students from poor backgrounds may not afford required modern technologies. This will limit the opportunity for studying and might result in falling behind. Therefore, considering distractions, health issues, and economic status of students, remote education should not be compulsory everywhere.

In contrast to online lessons, schools have stricter regulations on mobile phone use. Limitations on surfing the internet and specific courses requiring students to use their phones can solve above-mentioned concerns. Unlike virtual education, students inside schools can collaborate with each other in discussions or group activities, enhancing communication skills, time management, and teamwork abilities. Moreover, in traditional classrooms there will be only teachers, instead of computers, which means more face-to-face interactions. Teachers often identify students’ weaknesses and answer their question directly, encouraging them to build confidence in facing difficulties. Such are the benefits of offline education that it brings students together and helps prevent the feeling of isolation, which is often reported by students in online education.

In conclusion, despite the fact that internet is beneficial for student education, its intervention in education is detrimental. Internet driven health problems and concentration issues can substantially affect learning. Therefore, instead of obligatory online education, there should be some precise subjects that are taught digitally in order to maintain balance between modern and traditional learning techniques.