Schools should not force children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that schools should not make learning a second language a compulsory subject. While children can reap some benefits from learning a foreign language, I hold the belief that they ought not to be forced to do so.

On the one hand, there are 2 primary advantages of having a good command of another language. Firstly, it helps students to have a better understanding of the culture of that nation. This is because of the fact that language is connected closely with traditions and customs of a country; therefore, by having lessons about a foreign language, they can gain an insight into the traditional values carried on by other people. Secondly, children are able to access information in another language. For example, although my mother tongue is Vietnamese, I have learnt a great deal of knowledge about economics via the website ‘economist.com’ written in English.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that students should have the freedom to choose whether to learn a second language or not. To begin with, if students have to study things they do not like, they will be under a lot of pressure. As a result, this may lead them to lose passion and motivation in studying, which will be counterproductive. Furthermore, not all children have the ability to master a new language, instead, they excel in other subjects such as math or literature. Therefore, schoolchildren should have their right to concentrate on their favorite subject rather than being forced to learn something they are not passionate about.

In conclusion, while learning another language offers students immense benefits, I maintain that schools should encourage, but not compel, children to do it.