Schools should not force children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The debate about whether children should learn a foreign language or not continues. While there are some benefits to children learning foreign languages, in this essay I will give my opinion.

Firstly, children who learn foreign languages can broaden their knowledge. This is especially true for those who learn English, even if they are not from English-speaking countries. As we know, English is currently the main global language. We can access a lot of information from the internet or books written in English. Additionally, some countries require students who wish to study abroad to have English certifications such as IELTS or TOEFL.

However, we must not forget our mother language. For example, consider a child born and raised in Qatar with Indonesian parents. If the child learns English every day and even communicates with their parents in English, they may forget their Indonesian language because they do not use or hear Bahasa in their environment. The mother language is the first language we hear from birth. As parents, they should teach their children to speak the language of their heritage.

In conclusion, while the mother language is important, learning a foreign language, especially English, is even more important. Therefore, children should learn foreign languages from a young age, which will make it easier for them to learn other languages in the future.