Schools should use films, computers and games instead of books. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that books should be replaced with other educational means, such as films, computers, and games. Although it seems to be an attractive suggestion ,I completely disagree with this notion.

There could be some reasons why films, computers, and games can be good alternatives for books. Compared to textbooks, these learning tools are more engaging than books that can increase learning interest in students and, as a result, boost their academic productivity. Moreover, students can develop some hard and soft skills by learning through films, computers and games. Learning by computers at schools can provide a platform for students to learn how they should work with them and improve their computer skills. Watching films and playing games can also provide the opportunity of building up students’ social skills by socialising and exchanging ideas with their peers while watching films and playing games.

Nevertheless, turning to computers, films and game for teaching, and omitting books can lead to some problems. Firstly, this shift can put a strain on students’ health condition. Students already spend a huge amount their time in front of TV, watching TV programs or playing games. Using computers, films and games can increase their screen time which cause poor eye-sight among student. In addition, students writing ability may be at risk. If students are supposed to learn by computers, they will be asked to deliver their homework typed, and as most students do not work on their hand writing, this skill may not develop. So some problems may rise if we replace books with films, computers and games.

In conclusion, in my view, computers, films and games are appropriate means of teaching. However, they should not be replaced at the cost of banning books in schools. I believe that we should take the advantage of all of them.