Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by private companies rather than governments. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that private companies should conduct scientific projects instead of governments. Despite this phenomenon having many benefits, I personally believe that it has more drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why private agencies should regulate scientific studies. Firstly, most non-public companies tend to have the most commercial potential, which leads to a competitive situation. That means they can create a better version of products and prices for society. Moreover, the profit motive is also one of the most significant factors to focus on. Particularly, huge amounts of money can be made available immediately by some investors, which can help companies work more productively. Secondly, the market demands will be responded to quickly with the shift to suit the research. For example, when a need or trend changes, projects directed by companies will change more easily.

On the other hand, despite the positive effects mentioned above, my opinion remains firmly that controlling research by private agencies has many more limitations. Some companies tend to neglect the projects they work on, which are not profitable, to prioritize yielding immediate profits. For instance, despite focusing on society and the environment is a huge potential but are not prioritized as gaining less financial gain. Furthermore, profits are involved, and as a result, the companies may not always adhere to the ethical standards equally in pharmaceuticals or biotechnology.

In conclusion, although scientific research is controlled by private companies having both beneficial and detrimental effects, I firmly hold the view that drawbacks are more significant.