Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by private companies rather than governments. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often believed that private companies should be the ones carrying out scientific research instead of the government. While this notion could bring about potential benefits, I would argue that its drawbacks overshadow them.

On the one hand, there are a number of advantages when it comes to private scientific research. The most notable is the way in which private businesses create profits. Specifically, whenever there is a growing demand for a certain scientific product, corporations would be inclined to speed up efficiency in their research so as to be the dominant supplier. A prominent example is how a growing market for anti-aging cosmetics would most likely drive pharmaceutical companies to develop higher quality products in a more limited amount of time, in order to have an upper hand over their competitors. Consequently, these businesses would gather enormous wealth which could be spent investing in cutting-edge technology as well as attracting highly skilled experts, contributing to society’s benefits.

However, the positive aspects are outweighed by their own negative effects in my point of view. The most obvious is that private entrepreneurships have notoriety of falling short on ethical standards. As a result of profit being the main motivation, companies might cut corners and consequently release low quality and unreliable products. This usually is not the case for government research, as for example, medicine developed by government-funded specialists might have the citizens’ well-being in mind compared to corporations’ focus on immediate profits. Additionally, the consequence of aiming for quick gains is that private companies fail to further experiment on their products for the people’s long-term interest.

In conclusion, there are notable merits to private-funded projects. However, I hold the stance that their disadvantages are more significant.