Scientific research should be funded by governments rather than commercial organizations. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Scientists’ studies should be sponsored by governments rather than corporates. In my opinion, I am in agreement with the statement if the governments funding it to help and improve quality of lives.

To begin with, there are a quite large number of commercial companies allocate their money to scientific research to monopoly the industry as well as to gain profit out of these studies. For example, United States of America are known for their expensive health care and according to doctors it is mainly happening due to private enterprises dominating the industry with their expensive medication, which makes it harder for people to gain access to health care.

On the contrary, if the main sponsorship of the research are the government, government will be able to gain more access to regulate scientific studies. Additionally, with more authorities’ hands on these research, it is more likely that their main focus is to help civilians. In instance, with the help of governments funding and health institutes from around the world, the process of the research and the production of Covid-19 vaccines were relatively quick, which saved a lot of human lives.

In conclusion, a large portion of private-owned institutions are often use science to gain their own benefits rather than help people with it, therefore, public raises their concerns toward this matter and urge authorities to step up. On the other hand, if the government able to utilize the results of the research for humanity purposes, I will be fully supporting them to funds those studies.