Scientists believe that computers will become more intelligent than humans. Some say it is a positive development while others say it is a negative development. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Technology is believed to be more and more evolved in this day and age. Many people believe that this tendency brings numerous benefits while others advocate that it is an overall negative development. This essay aims to shed light on both views before concluding that I am of the opinion of the latter.

Admittedly, technological advancements offer significant advantages. Primarily, technology can perform tasks with more accuracy than humans, therefore, it can improve the outcome of people’ performance in doing jobs requiring high levels of precision in many fields including Maths, data analysis, and healthcare. For example, in healthcare, advanced technologies such as CT scanner, medical imaging enable health professionals to diagnose and treat illness more precisely, thus they can prescribe medicine and adjust patients’ treatment regime more effectively. Secondly, intelligent technology helps businesses reduce labour costs. Since machines invented with cutting-edge technology can complete mundane and repetitive tasks, there is no need for enterprises to hire employees for these roles but still meet the needs of productivity.

However, the argument that evolving intelligent computers is negative is reasonable to some extent. To begin with, artificial intelligence can replace certain jobs, which makes many people face a risk of job loss. Take OpenAI’s new Sora as an example, this advanced technology can create realistic, colourful pictures and graphic designs, making individuals working in design sectors potentially lose their jobs. As a consequence, this may pose challenges for governments in addressing unemployment. Another downside of intelligent technology-based tools is the lack of creativity. To be more specific, teenagers are increasingly using Chat-GPT to complete their homework in many countries, thus potentially leading to the inability to deal with certain tasks without the help of technology.

In conclusion, while I admit that advanced technologies bring many aforementioned merits to the world, I am more convinced that the evolution of intelligent computers poses many threats including job loss and a decline in creativity.