Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people. Why? Do you think it is a positive or negative development? of this development outweigh t

With many breakthroughs in the field of artificial intelligence, the scenario where cars can drive themselves is no longer something out of a science-fiction novel. I believe that this is a positive development overall, and I will explain why.

There are an array of factors leading scientists to believe that self-driving cars will soon become a reality. Firstly, a range of similar Al technologies such as robot vacuums. automatic sprinklers, and autopilot modes in planes are already introduced, and infrastructure facilitating the use of driverless cars is already underway in major cities such as Los Angeles and New York. More importantly, leading Al technology companies In the US have already received the government go-ahead, as seen in recent tax cuts for this sector. Finally, ride-hailing companies like Uber have announced that by 2025 they will have had a half of their cars replaced by autonomous ones.

Although driverless cars may terminate a large number of driving jobs, this technology will benefit people, the environment and society as a whole. On an environmental level self-driving cars tend to run on clean energy such as solar power, so the replacement of fossil-based vehicles, which release a large amount of greenhouse gases into the air, would curb air pollution.

Furthermore, it is true that most people choose to live in city centers so that they do not have to drive a long distance to their workplace or school Therefore, the introduction of self-driving cars would allow them to reside in suburban areas because they could catch up on their sleep or relax in their cars. This would reduce real estate prices, which confers substantial benefits for individuals, and also alleviate the housing problem in urban areas.

In conclusion, the advent of autonomous cars would be greatly beneficial, on personal, environmental and societal levels. Granted, it would cause job losses, but the government could provide drivers who lost their job with unemployment benetts or opportunities to reinvent themselves, for example in the form of vocational courses.