Scientists predict that all people will choose to talk the same global language in the future. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Languages are a strong medium to communicate our feelings and to socialize. Nonetheless, scientists have forecasted the use of a single language worldwide in the coming years. In this essay, I will argue that while this would result in undermining local languages and cultures, it will improve global connectivity and harmony, benefiting everyone across the global.

Selecting one language would lead in all others becoming insignificant and provide disproportionate importance to certain communities. Those natively speaking the chosen global language would have much more authority over worldwide dealings, and other citizens will be less valued in decision making. Language also depicts the culture of a region, and limiting its usage would mean that those people would lose a part of their prized heritage. India has nearly 1000 languages, and each one holds the story of the location’s rich history, all of which would be quickly forgotten if the language is not in circulation.

However, while there are emotional reasons to save all the languages, practically it is more useful to have a one standardized language as it improves global connectivity. Inability to speak the local dialect has hindered the opportunity of several individuals to settle in the place of their choice. This can be seen in many European nations, where immigrants find it hard to be accepted by locals due to linguistic barriers and have to shift back to their native country. A uniform language will eliminate this practice, making the world a large job market for all individuals, reducing unemployment, and improving standard of living. Different languages are also a cause of conflict, where people general become defensive about their own one if it is directly or indirectly insulted, and consistency in this matter across the world can reduce these conflicts.

In conclusion, while it is essential to maintain the culture of all places, language is not necessarily associated to this, and a singular language will solve a lot of the global politics and disputes, while it would also unite all nationalities who are currently divided based on their linguistic preferences.