Services, such as shops, schools and commercial centres should be relocated out of the city center. To what extent do you agree?

Some argue that amenities like schools, shops and commercial centers should not be located in the city center. I completely support this argument, as having these services in the city center causes further condensation of people and traffic, and disrupts the workers who are working there.

For starters, relocating facilities such as, schools, shops and commercial centers away from the city center will result in fewer visitors, therefore less crowdness in the area. An additional advantage to moving these services is that it’s also more convienent for people to utilize, as city centers are usually very busy areas. For instance, a study conducted in the UK conclued that countries that still have amenities located in their city centers have a higher crowd of people than countries who relocated their amenities far from the city center.

Another advantage to moving available services away from the city center is that it will allow employees who work there to reach their jobs more smoothly, because of the reduced traffic load. Not only that but also, with fewer people visiting the city center less noise will be produced out of cars and this will allow workers to concentrate. Moreover, more prouctivity will results and less work related errors. For example, A study conducted in Austarila concluded that people who have their work place located in crowded areas are more likely to make work related errors in their work and this attributed to noise related disruption.

In conclusion, relocating shops, schools and commercial centers out of the city center will benefit both the traffic and employeers working in the area.