Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society?

Shopping is gaining popularity over few years as a leisure activity. Nevertheless, some of us feel that this has both advantages and disadvantages of its own. Shopping as an activity has been very common because of the invention of e-commerce. However, this rising fame has its impact on individuals and on society, which shall be discussed in the following essay.

Unquestionably, e-commerce has pushed all of us towards shopping as it has made this experience quite easy. For example, one can see platforms like Myntra and Amazon that gives you any product with just a click. This trend has definitely helped us to fulfil our needs and desires with ease. Yet, there is a negative feeling associated with this as the people who cannot afford this and constantly attracted to the items shown. Moreover, e-commerce doesn’t have any limitations. Hence one can shop endlessly without understanding the value of money.

As discussed, it has growing demand from people of all ages ,especially the youth. This had led to a major impact on individuals and their communities. These days , youth spent most of their income on purchasing goods thus, they fail to understand the value of money and appreciate only material goods. On the other hand, it creates an enormous amount of jobs. For instance, jobs like graphic design and digital marketing. It has helped in increasing the economy.

To summarise, one can involve in shopping within limits and based on their needs. Parents should also keep in mind that things should not be given to their adolescents based on their desire so that they learn the value of money.