Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Shopping is very popular among the majority of the population. Some people find shopping as a form of relaxation while others discover new things that make a change in their everyday life. Some people find themselves in a different world, surrounded by various materialistic things which they may or may not be able to purchase. Even if they cannot purchase them due to finance, they take in the pleasure of window shopping where they look and feel the things while imagining to own them someday. I think people love to go shopping because they can meet their friends, meet new people, and discover new trends while some people love to go shopping to show their wealth and standard in the high society.

The effect of shopping on an individual is that it helps their self-esteem. Purchasing something, as well as knowing that you are financially able to purchase something gives an individual gives more confidence. The increase in shopping has many effects on the society. People may have been encouraged to start more businesses which will help and improve the economy. Most job opportunities will be available for people in this type of business due to the increase of popularity. The quality of the products will be better along with the service provided by the sales staff as manufacturers will try to improve their products and sell in a wide range, at a competitive price in the market. More job opportunities will be given in the advertising as the manufacturers try to sell their products, the consumers will have a better knowledge of the product, not missing out on any important details or feature.

I find shopping a pleasurable and relaxing experience, as years pass by.