Shopping is the favourite pastime for most of the young people. Why do you think is that? Do you think they should be engaged to do some other useful activities?

Today, young generations tend to spend their free time shopping. The reason why youngsters are fond of this pastime is because of their desire to catch up with fashion trends. However, as most young people are not financially independent at this stage of their lives, they should be encouraged to participate in more productive activities that do not involve purchasing.

One of the most popular pastimes for adolescents or young adults is to go shopping and purchase the newest items. The reason for this behavior is due to how they want to own the latest goods. Social life is one of the most important aspects of a youngster’s life, and one can easily be left behind if they don’t have what other people all have. For example, when Apple’s new iPad came out, almost every classmate except for me had already purchased an iPad and brought it to school. It was hard to join their conversation when I do not have the same topic to talk about. This made me grow a strong desire to go shopping and buy more of the newest Apple products so I can join their discussions as well.

However, although talking about the newest goods is a great way for young people to bond, it is a fact that the majority of this population does not yet have financial independence. For instance, the money that students use on shopping usually are allowances from their parents, and children most of the time do not have enough self-control, which means that a lot of money can go to waste on impulse buying. Consequently, young populations should be encouraged to seek new interests that do not require spending money instead of shopping. For example, doing sports is a great replacement instead of shopping. Not only it is an activity that spends relatively less money, but it is also a great subject that many people can relate to,

All in all, shopping is undoubtedly a pastime loved by many youngsters as it provides a way to form connections with their friends while socializing. However, alternative activities such as playing sports should be developed and encouraged as most of the population does not yet have the economic autonomy to support their buying habits.