Since the beginning of the 20th century, the number of endangered species has increased significantly and we have witnessed more mass extinctions in this period than in any other period of time. State some reasons for this and provide possible solutions.

There is no denying that an ever-increasing number of different species are going extinct more now than it used to be. The possible causes of this trend are varied, and in this essay, I will analyze some of them before putting forth several solutions.

One prevalent reason why so many sorts of flora and fauna are on the verge of extinction now is closely linked to human impact on this planet. To be specific, as the number of population has grown unprecedentedly over the last 50 years, more spaces, which once were a habitat for various species, are now being turned into accommodation, or different service sectors for public. As a result, problems like deforestation or desertification have already been commonplace in most parts of our planet, posing threats to the existence of many species. Another factor for the growth of the extinction is bound to be connected to severe changes in our ecosystem. Global warming can be one case in point for this situation, seeing as the global temperature of the world is experiencing some gains, making it difficult for some animals, plants or other microorganisms to survive. Seasonal unpredictability of weather conditions is also likely to fuel this issue. Some migration birds, for example, seem to be confused to fly away in certain periods of the year, as the weather is always changeable in most corners of the globe, meaning they are not often able to cope with these shifts and going extinct, as a result.

Having said that, addressing the issue of mass extinction involves a number of concrete steps. One is to pay more attention to replantation. Laws should be introduced by governments to improve reforestation. Not only this, but efforts helping decrease or at least stabilize the rate of global warming are also appreciated. Once eco-friendly transportation is encouraged and industries run on cleaner sources of energy are developed, the world would be much better place for endangered animals or plants to co-exist with humans. The third, but more important way forward is for governments to initiate more preservation systems, like sanctuaries for animals and special confined fields to save endangered plants. Supporting projects of this sort would certainly ensure the protection, preservation and rebreeding of the species that are in danger.

In conclusion, numerous species are getting extinct due to human impact. Still, this issue can be remedied by the collaborative efforts of governments and individuals alike.