Since the beginning of the 20th century, the number of endangered species has increased significantly and we have witnessed more mass extinctions in this period than in any other period of time. State some reasons for this and provide possible solutions.

The significant reduction in endangered species is a prevalent challenge encountered since early 20th century. The primary catalysts for these issues include, deforestation and rise in hunting activities. While these challenges are indeed concerning, afforestation, alongside stringent rules for hunting, could serve as effective remedies.

The rare species are in the verse of extinction, with one of its primary drivers being deforestation. The habitats of the birds and animals are being destroyed with cutting down the trees for urbanization. Besides, hunting activities also plays a pivotal role in mass destruction of rare animals. For instance, there has been significant reduction in population of Royal Bengal Tiger, the rarest animal found in India, due to illegal poaching.

To mitigate these issues, afforestation and making regulations for illegal hunting are imperative. One potential solution is plantation of trees, making the environment ideal for species to live. Furthermore, strong rules for encroachment can save millions of wildlife creatures. For example, in Dhorpatan Hunting Reserve, there are rules that prohibits killing of Cuckoo, one of the rarest bird species in the entire world, which has significant effect on growth in their numbers. Hence, conservation of wildlife can be done if more strict rules are implemented and plantation is done on regular basis.

In conclusion, afforestation coupled with strong regulations around poaching is essential to address the pressing issues of extinction of rare animals, which have arisen from cutting down the trees and hunting. So, we, along with the government, have a crucial role to play to save the extinct birds and animals.