Smacking children is the best way to discipline.what extent do you agree?

It is widely believed that the best way to instill discipline in children is by demostrating physical punishment. Parents claim that it is the most effective way to control and enhance children’s behavior. This essay will argue that such an upbringing is unacceptable.

Some parents believe that physical punishment is the best method of instilling discipline in children. By showing their authority, parents can help children to understand that certain behaviors are not acceptable. As a result, children may be less likely to repeat the same mistakes in the future. For instance, generally parents smack their children when they ignore instructions, such as refusing to stop playing and go to bed. They assume that such an act may instill a sense of respect. However, even if such acts encourage children to act appropriately, they do not symbolize understanding and long-lasting discipline.

Despite the belief that physical punishment can be effective, I strongly disagree with this view, as it may lead to negative consequences for children’s mental and physical development. Children who are raised by violent parents and have traumatic upbringing, will always feel anxious and stressed about certain issues. This can damage their abilities to communicate and make friends with others. Furthermore, instead of obtaining knowledge about discipline, children may suffer from distrusting and aggressive behavior. To illustrate, a child who is raised by villainous parents may set a priority that all challenges and circumstances should be solved in a violent way. Additionally, non-violent methods, such as explaining the consequences and setting clear rules, are far more efficient and beneficial for children’s psychology.

To sum up, this essay argued that the consequences of physical punishment may instill a sense of violence in young individuals. From my perspective, it is more valuable and beneficial for parents to bring up their children in a positive and supportive environment rather than relying on temporary and negative consequences.