Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of the public heath, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. Do you agree or disagree?

Over the past few years, smoking has become a focal point of heated debate. Some people would argue that smoking is their personal rights and it should not be forbidden by the government. Although there are some valid agreements in the contrary, I am inclined to believe that the government should take responsibility to ban the related product supply.

First of all, it is an undeniable fact that cigarette could cause irreversible damage to individual’s health. Not only causing yellowish brown teeth on people’s appearance, but also serious diseases such as lung cancer and heart diseases. Admittedly, cigarette would not affect a lot to the health of people who smoke in a certain low frequency. A ban on the tobacco products would only take away their enjoyment. Nonetheless, I would contend that the benefits still outweigh the drawbacks.

Further and even more importantly, one’s smoking could lead to others imitation, causing social issue. Indirect policies such as education is not as effective as legislating law on banning cigarette supply, since actions of nearby poeple still play a more important role on shaping children’s habit. A particularly good example is that youngsters tend to mimic the celebrities’ routine. If they smoke, smoking would become a symbol of mature and handsomeness, leading an adverse trend to the society. Despite it is people’s own rights to choose how to treat their bodies, government should take action for the sake of social health.

Overall, I once againg reaffirm my position that forcing people not to smoke has had a positive impact on individual’s health and even enhancing the social health.