Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages? ʼ

Nowadays, social media is everywhere. With technology starts to took over the entire world, social medial has become one of the easiest way to communicate for all ages. Although some might consider social media as a harmful thread for anyone who wants to steal personal information, I strongly suggest that the benefits that the social media offers outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, social media allows you to communicate with other people with ease by online access. For example, my friend, who lives nearly a thousands kilometers aways in Chile is able to connect with me easily. Also, sharing anything online is also possible. Now, you can announce all of your friends everything. For instance, anything that happened today, what have you eaten to day, and so on. From a business point of view, any activity with overseas clients can be conducted as well. For instance, some product that can not be found in your country

can be bought easily by browsing through the shopping website, like herbal remedies for China or even fish from Norway. Also, advertisements can be posted online for any interested customers. Since international shipping are available, products can be ordered and shipped anywhere in the world.

Although displaying any information only may consider as risky, information, which considered sensitive, are always checked after carefully by the person who posted it, such as personal address, government-issued identifications, etc. Everyone should be educated on what can be or cannot be posted online in order to prevent information leakage.

To sum it up, social media is beneficial for commercial or personal uses. Allowing you to connect to more people or even lead to more recognition to your company. Even though social media is easy to use, using it recklessly could cause harm to you or your company. Please making sure to be well aware of everything that you posted online in order to keep yourself safe from ill-intention hackers that might harm you in the future.