Some argue that patriotism is the primary cause of wars globally. Others feel that it serves to prevent less ethical politicians from running a country and starting wars. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the right wing parties gaining popularity more than ever, patriotism has become a topic for debate among politicians. One group contemplate that nationalism and patriotism can trigger war, while others argue that it could prevent politicians, with personal intentions, acquire power. This essay will outline different arguements and assert why it is crucial to have patriots in office.

Most of the “patriots cause war” advocates –mostly immigrants– oppose patriotism because of the history they have had in wars. Throughout history, there have been numerous politicians whom have started war in the name of patriotism but with personal intentions behind their actions and decisions. One famus example is Adolf Hitler who started the natzi party in order to return Germany to its golden era but later on it was discovered by historians that, conversely, he intended to expand his power by conquering Europe.

Although personally, I believe that patriots should hold power in order to develop a country and protect it from foreign threats. Additionally, with applying values based on patriotic administration, public population will become more united, so that a country can advantage of its full political potential. For instance, under Donald Trumps administration, who was a republican, illegal immigration faced a significant decline consequently resulting in more job upportunities for local population.

In conclusion, patriots undeniably play a pivotal role on how a country is run. In my perspective in modern politics nationalists do not perform as aggresively as they used to. Even though there are some drawbacks to patriotism, but they are heavily outweighed by its benifits.