Some believe secondary students should learn International news as a subject at school, while others think it's a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some individuals are of the claim that compelling pupils to learn International news at school as a subject is wasting time. Personally, I partly agree with this suggestion owing to some major reasons that are explained in this essay.

On the one hand, there are some persuasive rationales to make international news as a compulsory subject at school. In the contemporary era, international integration plays a crucial role in economic development, so updating worldwide information becomes a virtual part of life to catch an ongoing tendency of the world. This activity facilitates students broadening their horizons and witnessing the reality instead of just studying in textbooks and their national circumstances. Especially, as students will be a new generation in the workforce contributing to the national growth, so unless they do have exposure to these types of news, they will fall behind the world, resulting in the degradation of the country’s economy.

On the other hand, despite the idealistic nature of forcing students to learn international news at school, some drawbacks exist parallel. In fact, some educational programs in some countries require their students to learn many subjects as a compulsion, so if creating more subjects for them to study, it will put a high pressure on them. Take Vietnam as a great example. In Vietnam, pupils have to learn 13 subjects at school, having a large amount of knowledge to comprehend. Thus, if they must handle one more, they will not have enough time to learn, encounter stress and have an inability to overcome, posing health problems, especially mental well-being.

In conclusion, although the idea that making international news as a compulsory subject can create opportunities for students to enrich their knowledge and catch up with the world’s tendency, this will waste their time on studying more subjects, which leads to overwhelming feelings and health risks.