Some believe that is the responsibility of people to take care of the environment. Others say it is the government that should take care of the environment. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

It is thought that ordinary people should look after their own environment while others believe it is a labor for governments. Whilst both of these ideas are appropriate, the former is more sensible to me. But, in my view, environmental responsibility is a shared responsibility.

Thinking of protecting our environment, it is a duty for everyone to treat our nature in a good way. So, governments are also obliged to do so. They, in turn, can create and enforce policies and regulations so people can follow and having a better environment. But, apart from setting rules, governments need to follow rules themselves to be a good example for the public. Governments often do regulations but are not followed by them and yet they force people to obey. If governments obey what they found as an obligation, the public would do so.

In terms of people, we also often neglect our nature and cause big harm. Because of our own needs and daily choices about what to buy, eat or use, we are causing a direct impact on resource consumption, waste generation and pollution. However, when people do understand the consequences of their actions, they are more likely to make environmentally-friendly choices. The environmental awareness and responsibility start with learning and understanding. People need to be well-educated to make positive changes. In addition, unlike government policies which take a lot of time, people can take immediate actions if they want to.

In conclusion, while the former idea is true for me, for better results both sides need to take care of the environment.